page-template-default,page,page-id-16476,bridge-core-3.0.6,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-29.7,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.10.0,vc_responsive


American Association of Kinesiology Scholar AwardsThe annual scholar awards honor a select number of students from member departments, recommended by department faculty, whose academic and leadership records are distinctive. The awards are intended to recognize and promote academic excellence, to further the professional competence and dedication of academically accomplished students, and to promote kinesiology and its related fields.

AKA sponsors awards in four categories: Undergraduate Scholar, Master’s Scholar, Doctoral Scholar, and the Graduate Student Writing. Winners will be selected in those categories based on department institutional membership. Therefore, there will be three Undergraduate winners, two Masters winners, one Doctoral winner, and one Writing winner. Specific criteria for the awards are found on the online nomination form, as are the nomination submission requirements. Nominees for the 2023 scholar awards should be expected to graduate in the 2023 calendar year, and nominees for the Graduate Student Writing Award must have published their manuscripts in 2022. For each award category, each member institution can nominate one individual as their local award recipient, and those recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and appear on the AKA website. All local recipients will then be nominees for the national awards in each category.

Nominations for each award category can only be made by the department chair or an authorized faculty/staff member.  Students cannot self-nominate.  Nominations for the Undergraduate, Master’s, and Doctoral Scholar Awards should include a single pdf file containing the student’s vita (not to exceed two pages) that includes information concerning the student’s academic performance, scholarly interests/accomplishments, leadership, and service to the profession.  Note:  If a student’s vita exceeds the two-page limit, they will not be considered for the national award.  Nominations for the Writing Award should include a pdf of the student’s publication.

National award winners and honorable mentions are selected after a thorough review by 5-6 AKA Student Awards Committee members. Reviews are based on standardized rubrics for each award category (e.g., scholar and writing). In order to avoid any conflicts of interest, committee members do not review applicants from their own institution and the chair of the committee is not involved in the review process. If you have additional questions about the selection and/or review process, please contact the chair of the committee, Dr. Melanie Perreault (mperreault@brockport.edu).

The national award recipients will receive a $100 Visa Gift Card and an AKA memorabilia medal in addition to a national certificate of recognition. National award winners will also be noted on the AKA website, Kinesiology Today, and AKA Social media channels. Nominations are due by midnight Central Time on February 28, 2023.

There is one online nomination tool for department chairs to use for the four award categories. Department chairs submitting for each category will need to submit four nominations, one for each nominee. Nominations must be submitted no later than the deadline. Questions about completing the form should be directed to Dr. Melanie Perreault, Chair of the AKA Student Awards Committee (mperreault@brockport.edu).

Nomination Form (click here to access form)

Note: If you experience any problems using the nomination form linked above, please contact the Business Office.

Current Recipients of AKA Student Awards

2023 AKA Student Award Winners
2023 National Scholar Awards Honorable Mention Recipients